Taranaki Art News
Sign up for our monthly Email Newsletter about new exhibitions
 February 2018

Virtual Tart Exhibition
The exhibition on the Virtual Tart site for March 2018 is: WordART
37 artists respond to the challenge.

Coming Soon - (a new exhibition each month)
(email Dale if you're interested in having an exhibition on the Virtual TART site)


April -   Recent Work
by Dale Copeland, New Zealand

May -   Coastal Drawings
by Paul Hutchinson

June -   Reserved as a prize in the Emerging Artist
competitive exhibition being held in the Percy Thomson gallery in April.

1 July - 26 July See Nothing - the truth/lie dichotomy
A exhibition curated by Roger Morris.

27 July - 19 AugustICE20
The 20th International Collage Exhibition/Exchange
Click here to see how to be part of it.

20 August - 31 August; Little Bobby's Bestiary
Little Bobby Duncan, from USA

Percy Thomson Gallery in Stratford
Opening 7pm March 29th EMERGENCE - the award for young Taranaki artists.
Judges for the awards: Taranaki artist John McLean and Director of the NZ Portrait Gallery, Jaenine Parkinson.
First Prize: Winner of the supreme TSB Community Trust Emergence Award for Young Taranaki Artists: $2000 and a trophy designed by Taranaki glass artist Richard Landers
Second Place: $500
Third Place: $250
Prizes for Best 2D Artist, Best 3D Artist, and Best Digital Graphic Design: $300 each
Taranaki Secondary Schools Prize for 15-19 year olds: $300
Peopleís Choice Award: $200
Dale Copeland Award: A virtual exhibition on the Tart website for one month
Stratford Art Society Encouragement Award

Koru on Devon, New Plymouth
A new gallery, 18B Devon St. East, upstairs. (Opposite BNZ)
Opening hours Wednesday - Sunday 3.30pm - 7pm or whenever the open sign is out.
A large natural light Gallery offering two exhibition spacees
with professional hanging system & good storage for works.
Taking bookings now.
Contact Fay Looney ( faylooney@xtra.co.nz ) ph 021410030
FB koruondevon
Opening of first exhibition, Thursday 5th April
Koru on Koru Gallery & Garden
283 Koru Rd, Oakura
Open each weekend 10am - 4pm or by appointment.
New artists welcome to view this free space.
The historic Koru site offers garden space for sculpture exhibition at no cost to Artist.
Ph. 06 7527807 / 021410030
FB oakuraartgallery

Lysaght Watt Gallery, Hawera
Diverse Locals one work from each of 45 South Taranaki artists.
Curated by Michaela Stoneman

Mokau Museum & Art Gallery, Mokau
Until 5th April, the paintings of Jo Gallagher of Pio Pio.

Kina ArtSpace, New Plymouth
In the Houses of Shadow, Everybody Lies
an exhibition of mono and woodblock prints by Roger Morris

WHMilbank Gallery, Whanganui
'Swingers and Multiple Pick-Ups (extending the Reach)
An exhibition of Camera Obscura by Leonie Smith of Okato.
Until Sunday 25th March.

An exhibition opportunity at Elthamís Village Gallery
For $5, buy a 'brick' canvas, decorate as you wish, on the theme of WALLS.
Exhibition from 7th May to 1st June.
'Bricks' and details from Village Gallery.
Or phone Maree at 7645221

The Collaboration, POP UPstairs, 22 Devon St East
Retail and Gallery space.

The Molloy Gallery, Tataraimaka
Closed during March

Govett Brewster Art Gallery, New Plymouth
The new summer suite of exhibitions
John Stezaker: Lost World
Len Lye's large 'myth paintings'
Reuben Paterson: The Golden Bearing
Further Alterations - after Billy Apple
Projection Series: until Christmas 'The Long Dream of Waking'. Until end of March 'Len Lye's Jazz'

Aotea Utanganui Museum of South Taranaki, Patea
Our Milky Ways exploring the objects that have made the dairy industry into what it is today.

Gallery Patea
A new gallery has been set up in Patea.
It works with voluntary help, operates on a shoe string, has the good fortune to have generous landlords and operates with the community as its focus..
Thanks to all those factors, we have managed to keep our noses above water.

New Plymouth's Mine
A sculpture to display a German naval mine which washed ashore by Belt Road in 1943.
Designed by Dale Copeland, and perfectly constructed by PACE engineering,
Now installed on the Coastal Walkway, just down from Belt Road.
It's a fascinating story, from the newly-formed New Plymouth Bomb Disposal Squad in 1943 up to 2015.
The book is finished and available from Dale. See details on her website.

  Front Page   Exhibition   Showcase   News    Links    Guestbook 

These Taranaki artists have more of their work on their own Internet sites:
Dale Copeland at www.dalecopeland.co.nz
Graham Kirk at www.grahamkirk.com
Mili Purpil at www.milipurpil.com
Margaret Scott at www.margaretscott.co.nz
Marianne Muggeridge at www.mariannemuggeridge.nz
Roger Morris at www.rogermorris.nz/
Renate Verbrugge at www.renateverbrugge/
Robert Clement at www.stainedglass-studio.co.nz
Carl Fairweather at www.carlfairweather.com
Michaela Stoneman at www.mbstoneman.com
Paul Hutchinson at www.paulhutchinson.co.nz
and also on his "Another day" blog, at www.http://paul-hutchinson.blogspot.co.nz/
Dorothy Andrews at www.dorothyandrewsartist.com
Amanda Griffin at www.gryphondesign.co.nz

Got some more news for us?
please email

  Front Page   Exhibition   Showcase   News    Links    Guestbook